Prayer

20170620_110758-e1498247436842.jpgThis plaque is in the window of Resources for Women where I volunteer each week.  These words struck home with me as I’ve been through a very difficult situation in the past two years.  I did find myself praying hard everyday, and now the situation is easier, but do I still pray hard for everything?

I can look back in my life and see I was praying but was I praying hard?  I do pray everyday for my family, friends and for little and big things which need prayer.  But the question is, did I pray hard?  I do remember times when I was on my knees with tears running down my face, praying.  Was this praying hard or praying in desperation for a solution?

What does it mean to pray hard?  I think it means to pray when my emotions are out of control, my words can’t express what I’m feeling, or when I feel at a complete loss as to what to do.  I just have to let Jesus know what’s on my heart.  I can’t hold back anything because He already knows my desires but needs me to tell Him what it is in my heart.  I see Jesus has answered my prayers, maybe not in the form I expected but it was His answer.  Which reminds me to rely on Him to know what is best for me.  As the song says, “Thy Will be Done.”

How do you pray?  I can’t physically get on my knees anymore, but in my heart, I’m on my knees praying to Jesus everyday, all day long.  I lift up prayers as I go about my day, doing housework, writing, or crocheting.  I say little prayers for His protection when I drive to be with family or friends, going to church and Bible study or just to the grocery store.  Prayer is communication with Jesus no matter where you are in your life and giving Him thanks for the answers.

I’ll leave you with these verses, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, NIV  “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

