Inspiring Words

This is my very first post. I hope to inspire you, the reader, to look at the words written all around.

I recently received a plaque from a friend which says, “Friends are the family you choose”.  I have it sitting on my credenza by the TV.  I see it a lot and have pondered on it.  Friends can sometimes be closer than family because of distance.  I have two sisters who live in north Texas and I only get to see them about once a year.  I try to call and talk to them but I know I don’t do it enough.  I have one son and his family who live about an hour and half away from me.  My other son and his family live about twenty minutes away.  I don’t see any of them as much as I would like to.  They have their own very busy lives.

My friends live in different areas around me and it seems I see them all the time.  We get together for dinner, movies and games.  It’s fun being with them.  We have different backgrounds.  Two of my friends were born and raised here.  The rest of us are from all over the United States.  It seems the military have brought us here.  I met these ladies at church.  So, we have the Lord in our lives and we pray for each other.

So, what makes a friend become “family”?  I believe God place these ladies in my life years ago so they would become my family during a very difficult time in my life.  They were there when I needed to talk.  They didn’t judge me when I cried.  With my friends, I can tell them how I feel and know they will help me see things in a different view point.  I thank God for these very special friends.

Look around you at the people in your life.  Are there any friends you could consider family?  If you do, let them know how much you appreciate them.

To my friends family,  I love each of you and thank you for your friendship all of these years.

IMG_0374

Leave a Reply

